Purebred owners being bullied?

Mixes vs purebred dogs.  Buying from a ethical breeder or going to a shelter, does one make you a better person?

P3260026

I tend to stay very far from this topic, as a lot of times it causes a heated debate between two sides.  First of all I have no issues with adopting mix breed dogs, matter of fact I have had many in my lifetime and plan on having many more.  I also enjoy my purebred goldens as well.  I don’t view myself as a evil person nor have ill will towards shelters.  I never buy from a pet store but research a great deal for a ethical breeder even if that means I have to drive to Canada even to find one.  Which I have done… A ethical breeder to me is one that:

1: Has a strong contract with the new pet parents

2:  IF the puppy at any age can not be kept the dog must be brought back to the breeder and no a shelter 

3: Both parents are health and behavior checked

4:  Female or Male parent isn’t bred every heat cycle. ( Once a year or once every other year would be best)

5:  The female is retired at a good age (breeding shouldn’t be happening at age 7 and above)

6: Breeder keeps in touch with the owners, this allows the breeder to check in on the health of the litter.  This gives the breeder an idea if there is a sickness being passed onto future generations and can stop breeding the pair if this comes up.

7: The breeder wants to better the breed of choice. 

8:  The breeder focuses on one breed

9:  The dogs are part of the home life.. not out in a kennel all day

To me when a owner decide they wish for a purebred dog this is them being responsible by following this list.   I understand there are dogs in shelters, and some shelters are kill zones.  However, everyone has the right to decide what kind of dog they want and what type of dog fits their needs.  It would be like telling humans, no one can breed unless all children are adopted.   And with this right a person should not be bullied on the internet or off the internet by people who view rescues is the only way to go. Screen-Shot-2012-10-08-at-2.24.54-PM

All dogs have a right to a home it doesn’t matter if they are purebred or mix dogs and owners should not be judged by who they decide to add to their family.   What made me surprised is how harsh some of the rescue people really are.  I was asking questions about a new law that was going into place  the discussion can be found here.

I was a little bit confused because how this shelter had posted it, made me worry if I had gone to get my Golden now from Canada I would not be able to bring her home, nor if I was to rescue say a potcake dog.  Others asked more into about the law as they were worried as well.   Then one person stated that you can still get a puppy if its six months old.  As a dog trainer, I know that is a lot of missed time, so I asked for more details again.  This law is supposed to stop puppy mills WHICH IS A GOOD THING..  With how they had posted it, at first it seemed to have a lot of holes, that could cause owners a lot of issues to work with a responsible breeder thus why I was worried. TippyKalik

The poster from the facebook got back to me to let me know as long as no one is reselling the dog you still can import dogs for your own family.  That is great news.  It was after they had gotten in touch with me when things went down hill the first post was:

Colleen  R Why would anyone need to go to Canada to get a dog? Millions upon millions need homes in the USA. I am proud to say I am the Mom of 2 rescues!”
 
Thats great, I am all for adopting.. I responded with a quick:
 
“That is great that you are a proud rescue mom but some families are looking for a certain breeds that you can not find in a shelter. That doesn’t make a dog who comes from a responsible breeder any less worthy of a home.”
 
The witch hunt has already started at this point… I was a evil person for wanting to work with a breeder, they had no clue I have adopted many dogs, cats, horses…. but the fact that maybe one  of my family members came from a breeder was unforgivable.  It didn’t matter that I help out local shelters to train their dogs so they do get adopted quickly, nor did it matter that I even give shelters some money as well.  Another person quickly jumped on the hate wagon
 mutt_275
Ann  G I can’t understand why there is a need to breed animals. Other than money. And how many healthy dogs and cats are euthanized every day because they don’t have a home?!! Don’t breed, Adopt!!!!
 
Thats great, but I was looking for at a time for a certain dog with certain traits and in the future I highly doubt that I will find a Tama or even a Shikoku in a shelter when I come to that point in my life to look for another dog.
 
I tried to keep it relax and then another poster decided to degrade me even more so
 
Andre A J, get an education… We euthanize millions of dogs in the US, and many are purebred dogs. You have every right to buy anyAndre designer breed you want, but we have every right to think you are selfish, ignorant and ultimately part of the reason that dogs that come from breeders are often overbred and held in abusive conditions. 
 
Once again these flared up people tend to forget there are good breeders out there that do not over breed nor hold their dogs in abusive conditions.  All breeders who I network with are very protective of their dogs and their offspring and many even donate money to local shelters.    Yes there are crappy ones out there and yes puppy mills are bad.  But NOT all breeders are evil beings and its true not all owners who work with the good breeders are evil. 
I did respond 
 
“It drives me nuts, when other pet owners, want to judge and pass judgement on a family who may want to get a puppy from a responsible breeder. Yes there are dogs in shelters, and yes there are breeders out there aiming to do good for their breed of choice. It comes down to this.. even if we fixed ALL dogs in the USA or the world, within 15 -20 years all the shelter dogs that get adopted will die out (due to age) and in turn the population of dogs will be no more. There needs to be a healthy balanced between breeding and shelters plain and simple. Genocide, is not the fix all for the population issues in shelters. And its not right to make people feel like crap when they decide not to adopt. If you also want to see the results of humans stopping breeding of a species look of the population decline in humans in Japan. Both male and females are starting to move away from giving birth and their age rates have shifted. It is the same concept for dogs, if all of the sudden we stopped all breeding.”
download
It is true if we do fix every dog in the USA do not allow importing, under 20 years dogs would die off from age.  And even if everyone tries to adopt from a shelter there is no 100% chance the shelter will let you.  My sister and her room mate works full time 8-4:30 mon-fir, after their dog had past away they went back to a shelter that they had adopted from.   Due to the fact they worked a full time job they were NOT allow to adopt… mind you, you would think it was a good thing they had full time jobs…it means that their dogs were well taken care of, and never in need when it came to medical care.   I was shocked to say the least.   After that post I did I figured that would be it…after all the witch hunters were coming in for the kill no need to stick around and try to prove a point or give them anymore of my time.  
 
Here is some of the  documentaries about the Japanese population decrease due to lack of births. 
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IwUIKDTErNo
While I try to find the really good documentary on youtube you can search for more information about it.. It was called No Sex Please, We’re Japanese  was a BBC one
JapPop
So why would I use this to make a point about dog population.   Well the Japanese have been decreasing their birth rates some stated it started in the 1970s, which leads them to the issues they are facing now which is a low population to the point they may run out of a population (they have even closed down thousands of schools).  If we were to fix all dogs and only have shelter dogs we would run out of dogs, we would see the same issues that the Japanese are seeing only at a faster rate as dogs do not live as long.   This tells us there needs to be a healthy balance in everything.  
taylor-the-mixed-breed_62802_2011-12-09_w450
It was then at this point:
Patricia E ^^ Justify it all you want with your weak points @J W- #BREEDINGSUCKS.#adoptdontshop
 
I rolled my eyes, after all if we stop all breeding there won’t be any dogs but whatever, I was going to let it pass clearly there is no talking to these people who only want to lash out and use me as a whipping boy.  Then all of the sudden I had gotten a nice comment….I was starting to think there was only trolls and bullies left on the internet. 
 
S K J Williams keep writing your reasonable position! I’m proud to be a dog breeder AND I rescue dogs AND run a State of Ohio charitable horse rescue. Yes it is time for education that breeding and rescue are not mutually exclusive and to support responsible breeders will decrease consumer purchasing from puppymills.
 
So thank you SK for also speaking out.
 
My last comment mind the mis-spells it was starting to get hard to read everything on the facebook chat as the posting became long:
 
I am starting to think the people who are lashing out and cyber bullying tend to forget there is a difference between puppy mills and ethical breeders… Bullying people for keeping their options open as to where they find their next family member is not going to help the cause of getting dogs out of shelters. I have adopted from shelters and I have gone through ethical breeders for some of my dogs. It doesn’t make me stupid, uneducated or unethical. It doesn’t make me a bad person, I’ve put time into shelters training dogs for free, I have supported my local shelters during their events by giving money. Puppy mills are bad, however if you are staying we should one fix all dogs or two run out all breeders even the ones who are trying to make their breed of choice a better one. Thats not right, often times these breeders who are ethical are even giving information about their dogs health and pups health to science to help find cures for different diseases in the k-9 community. Many breeders who i know also make sure their pups never see a shelter. And the dogs who they do retire they keep or find homes for them with the same written agreement that the puppies have gotten. There needs to be a healthy balance and a supportive community for breeders who are ethical. Most of all I think that the bulling from people need to stop, its not your right to judge someone, its not your right to damn their dogs and it doesn’t make their dogs any less special if they don’t come from a shelter. I support mix breeds or also know as all American breeds, however I also support ethical breeders who don’t over breed and who are trying to do good for their breed. So far all I have seen from just asking a simple question about a law is hate and that doesn’t make your cause look noble.
Siberian_Husky_896502
When it comes down to it, it doesn’t make you a great pet parent if you only get your pets from shelters, it doesn’t make you a great person specially if you spread hate for your cause.  There needs to be a healthy balance.  There needs to be a support for great breeders so we weed out the puppy mills,  the backyard breeders and there needs to be support for shelters dogs.
 
No one is righteous or better than another person just because you only adopt.  No dog is better than another dog because it pure bred or a mix.  When it comes down to it find a dog mix or purebred that fits into your family and most of all love that dog until the day they go over the rainbow bridge.
 
Do not forget… do not spread hate to others, it doesn’t help your cause it drives people away from it…
 
Leave a Reply

